Election results: 2024 CUPE NS Division Executive and Committees

Elections were held on May 28th and 29th for the Executive Board and Standing Committees at the CUPE Nova Scotia Division Convention in Halifax. An explanation of the election of officers and committees can be found below (see Election of officers and committees).

CUPE NS Executive Board as of June 1, 2024

Nan McFadgen

Alan Linkletter – newly elected

Recording Secretary
Emily MacNeil – newly elected

Donna Van Kroonenburg – acclaimed

Diversity Vice-President
Jess Haley – newly elected

Young Worker Vice-President
Ty Loppie

Communications Editor
Matthew MacDonald – acclaimed

Area Vice-President, Cape Breton 
Cheryl MacDonald – newly re-elected

Area Vice-President, Central
Ann Marie Danch – newly elected

Area Vice-President, Northern
Ralph Vickers – newly elected

Area Vice-President, Southern
Marcy Vacon

Steve Joy – acclaimed
Justin Cull – newly elected
Joel O’Neil

Newly elected committees as of June 1, 2024

Health and Safety Committee Education Committee
Steve Joy Miriah Drever (young worker)
Kelly Morrison Floyd Seymour
Justin Cull Donna Beals
Matt Cummings Ray Smith
Contracting Out and Privatization Committee Global Justice Committee
Nimrod Matthias Cat Hutt (young worker)
Craig Bayer Edwina Donovan
Nikki Braniff Cheryl Burbidge
Ashley Sellon
 Dan Woods

Election of officers and committees

As per articles 5.06 and 5.07 of the CUPE Nova Scotia Constitution, the nomination and election of executive board officers will proceed in the following order.

President Vice-President
Recording Secretary Secretary-Treasurer
Diversity Vice-President Communications Editor
Young Worker Vice-President Area Vice President, Northern
Area Vice President, Central Area Vice President, Cape Breton
Area Vice President, Southern
One trustee elected each year, for a three-year term

Each committee will consist of four members plus one young worker. Delegates elected to committees shall serve a term of two years and alternate as follows.

Women’s Committee Health and Safety Committee
Human Rights Committee Education Committee
Political Action Committee Contracting Out and Privatization Committee
Pensions Committee Global Justice Committee

See CUPE NS Constitution: https://novascotia.cupe.ca/wp-content/blogs.dir/498/2023/01/CUPE-NS-Constitution-2022.pdf (2024 version coming soon).